Please follow and like us:

About Mark David Albertson

Short Biography

Mark David Albertson


Born in the “Atomic City,” Los Alamos, New Mexico, once the secret site of the Manhattan project, Mark loved and spent most of his time in the outdoors.  Mark joined the navy right after high school at the end of the Vietnam conflict and became a radioman on a destroyer escort. He left the navy with a dream of someday writing a novel incorporating the adventures of a young sailor, and in 2021 made that happen.



Mark spent over thirty years as an attorney, both as a prosecuting attorney and in private practice.

Since his navy days, Mark was always a writer.  During his time practicing law, he published books and law journal articles both nationally and internationally, but he always longed to write novels.  Mark had left the navy with colorful memories of travel to many countries and of the challenges serving at the end of Vietnam and during the cold war.

In 2017, Mark left the practice of law to write his first novel, the acclaimed thriller, “Steaming: A Sea Story”. In 2021, he published the second book of his Sea story series entitled, “Spying: A Sea Story,” and is scheduled to have the third novel in the series, “Stalking: A Sea Story” on the shelves in 2022.

Mark is married to fellow writer KE Meuir and lives in the Hill Country of Texas where they care for their horses, chickens, dogs and other furry critters.


In-Depth Biography

Mark David Albertson

.Mark David Albertson likes to tell people that he was born and raised in Texas, which is true if you look at an 1845 map of the Republic of Texas, which at that time incorporated what was to become his hometown of Los Alamos, New Mexico. Los Alamos, known as “The Atomic City,” was the birthplace of the atomic bomb. Tucked in the mountains of northern New Mexico, Mark grew up in a secured city with gates, armed guards, and mountain patrols in the surrounding mountains.

Although Los Alamos was a wonderful place to grow up, Mark longed for adventure. He joined the Navy after graduating from high school and set off for the adventure only a sailor could have. In his time in the navy, he became a radioman and visited 19 countries. Mark left the navy with an idea for a novel, based in part upon his experiences and those of his shipmates. Little did he know that it would take forty-two years to accomplish this goal.

Following his discharge from the navy, Mark moved to San Antonio, Texas, where he went to college and served in the Texas Air National Guard as a police staff sergeant. Upon graduating from college, Mark attended law school at St. Mary’s University. Following his law school graduation, he moved to Washington State, where he lived for the next thirty-four years.

Mark’s career and the raising of three children took precedent over novels but not his writing. Mark wrote dozens of articles, two law books, and collaborated on several more over his career, and on the side built a successful private investigation practice and a speaking practice. Mark spoke to dozens of organizations and gave over a thousand seminars and speeches.

When the 2000s came Mark suffered a series of painful events. His 24-year marriage ended in 2005, he was diagnosed with a rare cancer with little hope of surviving and became involved in a twelve-year dysfunctional relationship. In 2017 he decided to leave his career and extract himself from the dysfunctional relationship and learn to live a life he had chosen, which he did. It turned out to be the best choice of his life as he met a wonderful, kind, and loving life partner and wife, who encouraged him to finish the book that had been in his head for all those years. They moved from Washington, bought a small ranch (Mark says “It’s 90 acres shy of 100”) in the Hill Country of Texas, and both Mark and his beloved sweetie began writing professionally.

Mark’s first book, Steaming, was the completion of a 42-year goal, and was followed closely by his second book, Spying in 2021. His third book, Stalking, is due to be on the shelves in 2023.

Mark’s Books

Steaming: A Sea Story


“It’s not just a job … it’s an adventure!” is the recruiting slogan of the US Navy in the mid-1970’s, at the end of Vietnam.

Americans have been told the war in Southeast Asia is over. Seaman Matthew Bertram, expecting a Navy enlistment of travel and adventure discovers that the war is not yet over.  When he finds himself on charges for diving into Subic Bay to save his Chief’s dentures, he discovers that the life of Navy adventure will take a sudden and catastrophic turn as he takes on a mission that will change his life forever.

Writer Mark David Albertson brings the US Navy of the mid-70’s to colorful life, exploring the world of a young sailor intent on finding adventure.  Along with the fun of exploring new places, Mark paints a portrait of what it was like to be a sailor during this unusual time in history.  His remarkable knack of telling a good sea story will leave readers laughing, crying, and on the edge of their seats as Mark’s character experiences an adventure he never knew was coming.

Spying: A Sea Story


When two sailors are murdered trying to sell classified materials to the Soviet Union, the Naval Investigative Service determines there might be a massive leak of intelligence from one navy ship. They determine the only way to investigate the possible hemorrhage of information is to place someone into the radio shack of the flagship of the Seventh Fleet Commander, the USS Oklahoma City. Because of his unique training and recent combat experience in Cambodia, the choice is clear for the NIS: Radioman Matthew “Bert” Bertram. He has the skills both as a radioman and field agent, and The NIS believes he is the only one capable of stopping the spies.

In this sequel to the praised Novel Steaming: A Sea Story, author Mark David Albertson enthralls his readers with another page-turning thriller filled with twists, turns and surprises around every corner. Mark David Albertson takes his readers on yet another thrill-ride story of spies, treason, murder and intrigue. Spying: A Sea Story is an adrenaline rush of quirky characters, humor and edge-of-the-seat thrills, with plot twists nobody expects.


When a US Navy ship is cut from its pier and drifts into San Diego Harbor with a cryptic note left behind, NCIS Special Agent Matt Bertram is called upon to launch an investigation. Soon after, more, and escalating acts of sabotage continue, each with notes indicating the same person is at work. The mysterious criminal at work makes it known that his acts of sabotage are intended to directly draw Matt into a tight web of violence, intrigue, blackmail and murder. Racing against the clock, Special Agent Bertram must find the perpetrator in order to stop the madman from killing sailors and destroying billions of dollars of navy property. 

In this third book in the praised Sea Story series author Mark David Albertson enthralls his readers with another page-turning thriller filled with twists, turns and surprises around every corner. Mark David Albertson takes his readers on yet another thrill-ride story of crime, mystery, murder and intrigue. Like the author’s prior books, Stalking is an adrenaline rush of quirky characters, humor and edge-of-the-seat thrills, with plot twists nobody expects.

Schedule an Event

Contact Agent

Contact Author


Do you like Mark's website? Please spread the word :)